What to Do After a Work Injury

Posted by Christopher “Chris” Schwartz | Jul 02, 2018 | 0 Comments


Getting injured at work can put a serious dent in your day-to-day life. You should be aware of the various facets of workers' compensation and the benefits you are entitled to. So, what should be your first order of business when you are injured at work? Who should you reach out to? Keep reading to learn what you need to do after a work injury.

Receive Medical Treatment as Soon as Possible

First, you need to make sure you are getting medical help for all injuries you sustained. Your health comes first. You want to have a speedy recovery so you can get back to work as soon as you can. Follow your doctor's instructions, and make sure to rest up to feel better and get back in the swing of things.

If you need to receive any prescription medicine or diagnostic exams, then either your employer or workers' compensation insurance company may ask that you receive your tests or medication from certain pharmacies or a diagnostic network that they have a contract with. However, if this is asked of you, then it is mandatory they inform you of so in writing that you need to seek help through a specific pharmacy network or diagnostic network.

Notify Your Employer

Most of the time, you need to tell your employer in writing about your work injury within 30 days of receiving it, If you don't, you will not be allowed to receive workers' compensation benefits. Most cases need claims for payments within one year of the accident that caused your injury. However, it is imperative that every injury claim made is within three years to the day of the accident that led to your disability.

File for Workers' Compensation

No matter how you are injured on the job, it is absolutely crucial that you file for workers' compensation. If you are disabled from your injury, but your disability lasts less than two weeks, then you will be entitled to workers' compensation beginning in the second week.

However, if your disability lasts over two weeks, then you will receive workers' compensation for your first week, but only after two weeks are over. You should be aware of the different expenses that workers' compensation covers in Louisiana as well. Louisiana differs from many other states in how it does not put a limit on the amount of workers' compensation you can receive. The amount of workers' compensation you get ultimately depends on the level of your disability.

Seek Proper Legal Help

Don't wait to take action after you experience a work injury. Although it may be a tedious and worrisome time, the experienced and dedicated Louisiana workers' compensation lawyers at Schwartz Law Firm LLC will take care of everything for you. From the first phone call until your case is over, you can be rest-assured you are in trusted hands.

For more information on what steps you should be taking after a work injury, or if you want to learn more about receiving workers' compensation in Louisiana, reach out to the Schwartz Law Firm LLC. We have two locations in Louisiana, one in Metairie and another in Baton Rouge. Feel free to call us at 504-837-2263 for your free initial consultation today.

About the Author


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Schwartz Law Firm

Schwartz Law Firm LLC attorneys bring over 25 years of combined experience securing personal injury recoveries and workers’ compensation successes in New Orleans and southeast Louisiana.