Riding a motorcycle in Louisiana is exhilarating, breathtaking, and dangerous all rolled into one. The sad fact of the matter is that the next time you go for a ride on your hog it might be your last. Motorcycle accidents do not make up a large percentage of the total number of accidents in the state of Louisiana each year, but there are still too many deaths. According to statistics provided by Louisiana Crash Data Reports, there were 96 deaths from motorcycle accidents in 2017. Of the more than 1,800 reported motorcycle accidents in2017, more than 86 percent riders in those accidents were wearing helmets.
Helmet and Eye Protection Required
If you are going to ride a motorcycle, either as the operator or the passenger, you must wear a helmet. You are also required to have eye protection on at all times. The helmet must be equipped with a chin strap, adequate padding, and it can also have a visor that will count as your eye protection. If you don't want a visor on your helmet you can have a windshield installed for the motorcycle that is high enough to protect your eyes. You can also wear goggles.
Makeup of the Bike
When it comes to the makeup of the bike there are some laws that you need to follow in order to keep yourself safe and to avoid tickets. These laws include keeping the handlebars lower than your shoulders and there needs to be a permanent and a regular seat on the bike. The permanent seat is for the operator and the regular seat is for any passenger who wishes to ride with you.
Laws Governing Riding a Motorcycle
When riding your motorcycle, you must do so in the astride position. This means that you have one leg on each side of the motorcycle instead of two legs on one side or the other. Some of the overriding laws include:
- You cannot drive between lanes of travel
- You cannot drive on the lines
- Passing can only be done on the left of other vehicles
- No more than two motorcycles can ride side-by-side when riding together
- It is illegal to ride with children under the age of five
- Both hands must be free at all times when riding
- A modular headlight can be usedonly during daylight hours
- A valid license is required tooperate a motorcycle and it must have a motorcycle endorsement on it
Motorcycle Care Laws
Caring for a motorcycle is much like caring for a car, truck, or SUV. There are certain laws you need to follow when you own a motorcycle. The laws in this category you must follow include:
- All motorcycles must be registered with the state of Louisiana and have a license plate
- Registrations are valid for a period of five years
- You have 40 days to get a motorcycle inspected after purchasing it
- Proof of insurance that meets the minimum must be provided
- Depending on where you live, you might need an emissions inspection sticker
Contact an Attorney Today
Were you injured in a Louisiana motorcycle accident? It's in your best interest to contact an experienced personal injury attorney at the Schwartz Law Firm about your case. Don't let your injuries be brushed aside by insurance companies or the at-fault party. Call the office inNew Orleans at 504-837-2263 to schedule a consultation today.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment